How to Reset Arlo Camera? (2 Methods)

Last updated on April 17th, 2024

Arlo cameras are excellent security devices, but sometimes they could encounter unexpected errors. And the solution is to reset the camera. But how to reset an Arlo camera?

You can reset an Arlo camera in two ways. 1) By using the Sync button and 2) By using the Secure app. Both are effective methods to get the job done.

In this article, we will discuss both methods in detail with their step-by-step procedures.

If you want to reset Arlo camera because of some error, then first try to troubleshoot the error. Find out all the ways in which you can resolve the said error and try them. But if none of the methods work, don’t directly go to reset. Because that means you will lose all the camera data from the app.

Do a soft reset or reboot by powering down the camera and back on. Even after the power cycle, if the error isn’t resolved, then finally go ahead and factory reset Arlo camera.

Let’s look at different ways to reset these cameras in detail.

Resetting an Arlo Camera

Method 1: Using the Sync button

Resetting an Arlo camera by pressing the sync button
Resetting an Arlo camera

You can use the Sync button located on the camera to reset it. The process is very short and simple. But you’ll need to be physically near the camera to do it. You cannot do it remotely. Here are the step-by-step instructions:

Step 1: Unmount the camera from its position.

Step 2: Locate the Sync button on the camera.

Different models have Sync buttons in different locations. The table below indicates the location of the Sync button on different cameras.

Arlo ModelsLocation of the Sync button
Pro 3, Pro 4, Floodlight, Ultra, and Go 2Inside the camera housing
Essential Wire-FreeOn top of the camera
Essential Indoor (2nd Generation)On top of the camera
Essential Indoor CameraOn the bottom of the camera
Location of the Sync button on different Arlo cameras

Step 3: Press and hold the Sync button for about 15 seconds. Wait for the LED indicator to blink Blue.

Your camera has been successfully reset. You can now reconnect it to the app. If you want to know how to factory reset Arlo camera, then this next method is for you.

Method 2: Using the App

Using the Arlo app to reset the camera
Using the Arlo app to reset the camera

If you aren’t near the camera, you can reset it using the app. This method is just as effective as the previous one. And once you reset it, you should reconnect it to the Secure app using the setup procedure.

Step 1: Open the Secure app.

Step 2: Click on ‘Settings’ and then on ‘My Devices.’

Step 3: Select the camera you want to reset.

Step 4: Click on the ‘Remove Device’ option.

Step 5: Click on ‘Yes’ in the dialogue box that appears on the screen to confirm.

Now, let’s see how to reconnect the camera to the Secure app after doing either of the reset procedures.

How to reconnect Arlo Camera to the app?

Reconnecting an Arlo camera to the app
Reconnecting an Arlo camera to the app

This process is very similar to the setup procedure when you first connect a cam to the app.

Step 1: Open the Secure App.

Step 2: Click on ‘Devices’.

Step 3: Click on the ‘+’ icon.

Step 4: Click on ‘Cameras’.

Step 5: Select ‘Ultra,’ ‘Pro,’ or ‘Essential’ based on the model you have.

Step 6: Select the model of your camera from the list of options.

Step 7: Connect it to the Base Station or Wi-Fi network.

Step 8: Insert the batteries in the camera.

Step 9: Follow the on-screen instructions to complete the rest of the process.

And that’s how you reconnect a camera that has been reset.

Conclusion

To reset Arlo camera, you can follow the simple steps given in this article. Mostly, it goes smoothly without any errors. But sometimes, people have difficulty connecting to the network. One of the most common reasons is you haven’t selected the 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi network. These cams are only compatible with that band. Select the right band, and everything should go well.

FAQs

Can Arlo cameras be reset remotely?

Yes, you can reset Arlo cameras remotely using the Arlo app. But you must be near the cam to reconnect it to the app.

How do I reactivate my Arlo camera?

You can reactivate your Arlo camera by following the setup process you used to connect the camera to the app for the first time.

Photo of author

Siddhi Gurav

She is the editor and content writer at Smart Home Bulls. Siddhi merges her passion for language with SEO expertise. With 4 years of experience as a creative writer and a passion for smart home technology, she fits in perfectly at Smart Home Bulls. Her wide experience in content marketing has been an excellent addition to our team.

Leave a Comment