Reset Wyze Camera (in 4 Simple Steps)

Last updated on April 17th, 2024

Wyze cameras are excellent security options at affordable prices. They will give you access to the cam’s live feed and record videos triggered by motion. But sometimes, these cameras malfunction or stop working. The ultimate solution to all the errors is resetting your camera.

Now, before you go and reset Wyze camera, know this – all the data associated with the camera, along with personalized settings, will be deleted from the app when you reset.

Your recorded videos will be safe if you have installed an SD card into the cam. Otherwise, all the data will be lost. If you don’t want to lose the data, you should consider a reboot.

In this article, we will cover the detailed procedure to reset Wyze camera.

Reset Wyze Camera

Follow the steps to reset the wyze camera
Follow the steps to reset Wyze camera

The reset procedure is the same for all models. Here are step-by-step instructions on how to reset Wyze camera:

Note: Keep the camera plugged into the power source during the entire reset procedure.

Step 1: Remove the SD card from the camera if you have inserted one.

Step 2: Locate the setup button on the cam.

Step 3: Press and hold the setup button for 10 seconds. If you have a Cam v1, then hold it for 20 seconds.

Step 4: Wait for 30 seconds to 5 minutes until the LED status light changes color.

The table below indicates the change in the LED status light color of various Wyze camera models.

Wyze modelsColor changes fromColor changes to
Cam v3Solid RedFlashing Red
Cam OGSolid RedFlashing Red
Cam OG Telephoto 3xSolid RedFlashing Red
Cam v1/v2Solid YellowBlinking Yellow
Cam Pan v1Solid YellowBlinking Yellow
Cam Pan v3Solid RedFlashing Red
Color change during Wyze camera reset

Once the status light changes, your cam has been reset. It will automatically go into setup mode, and it should be ready to connect to the app. You can refer to our guide on connecting the Wyze camera to Wi-Fi for the next steps.

When to reset Wyze camera

As mentioned earlier, reset is the ultimate solution to all types of errors. But when exactly should you consider a reset?

Connectivity issues

When your camera has gone offline or isn’t able to connect to the internet, you can reset the camera. But before you do that, make sure that you have exhausted all the troubleshooting methods. (More about this in the next section.)

Camera malfunctioning

If your cam is not recording videos or you are not able to view the live feed and recorded videos, you should factory reset Wyze camera.

Transferring camera ownership

If you want to sell your cam or give it to someone else for use, you have to ensure that all your data is deleted. And that the camera is no longer connected to your local Wi-Fi network. To ensure that reset is the best method.

Before you reset your Wyze camera

Now, before you reset Wyze camera, make sure you have exhausted all the troubleshooting methods if you are trying to fix some error. There are a few things you can try before the reset, and those will probably solve the problem.

Then, you won’t have to go through the entire set-up procedure again to connect the camera to Wi-Fi and the app. Also, all your data will be safe. Here’s what you can do:

Check power

Ensure that the camera is receiving power. To do that, you can check the indicator light on the camera. It should be turned on. If you are not sure, then connect a different device to the same power outlet and see whether there’s the desired output. If you have a multimeter, you can even check the exact output from the source. If there’s no power, connect your cam to a different socket.

Check internet connection

Check the internet connection
Check the internet connection

No internet is one of the greatest issues with these cameras. To ensure proper Wi-Fi connectivity, you can:

  • Check internet speed using an online tool.
  • Reset the Wi-Fi router if there’s no internet.
  • Keep the Wi-Fi band to 2.4 GHz. You can change the band from the Wi-Fi settings.
  • Remove any MAC filtering or firewall settings from Wi-Fi.
  • Disable VON and Ad Blocker apps from your mobile.
  • Change the Wi-Fi network on your camera.

Power cycle the camera

This is the best way to reboot a Wyze camera. It will achieve almost the same effect as a reset but without losing the data. To power cycle your cam, unplug it from the power source and wait for a few seconds. Replug the power cord, and your cam will automatically be turned on.

All the settings that were causing the error will be set back to normal, and your issue will most probably get resolved.

Update firmware

Firmware updates usually happen on their own. But if they are not getting downloaded automatically, you can do it manually.

  • Select the camera in the Wyze app.
  • Click on the ‘Settings’ icon.
  • Select the ‘Device Info’ option.
  • Click on ‘Check Update’.

Download and install the updates if there are any. Give it a minute or two for the changes to reflect in the cam and throughout the app. Now, check if your issue has been fixed.

Reinstall the Wyze app

This method only works if the issue is with the Wyze app. But it’s worth a try. Uninstall the app from your device. When you uninstall, all the settings and connected devices will remain connected. That connection won’t get lost.

Reinstall the app from the Play Store or App Store. Login using the correct credentials, and you will find all your connected devices as it is. Check whether the issue you did this for was resolved or not.

Conclusion

Resetting a Wyze camera is a very simple process. The process is the same for all the models. The only difference is the color of the indicator lights. Resetting the device will remove all its data from the app.

Don’t forget to remove the SD card while you reset it, or all the recorded videos will also be lost. But before you reset, make sure you have exhausted all the other options. If you know any other way to reset Wyze camera, let us know in the comments below.

FAQs

How do I reconnect my Wyze camera after deleting it?

You can follow the same setup procedure you used while connecting the Wyze camera to the app to reconnect it after deleting.

Can I delete and reinstall the Wyze app?

Yes, you can delete and reinstall the Wyze app. You won’t lose any info saved in the app.

Photo of author

Siddhi Gurav

She is the editor and content writer at Smart Home Bulls. Siddhi merges her passion for language with SEO expertise. With 4 years of experience as a creative writer and a passion for smart home technology, she fits in perfectly at Smart Home Bulls. Her wide experience in content marketing has been an excellent addition to our team.

Leave a Comment